jump to navigation

Canon PhotoStitch 3.1 March 6, 2006

Posted by jessicraft in photography, tutorial.
trackback

Ever since I first started seeing images digitally “stitched” together, I’d been way impressed and way intrigued. When I got my Digital Rebel XT it came with PhotoStitch software that is very straightforward and does the job. I thought I would take a few screenshots on my iBook and post the process for anyone not in the know.

First thing you do is open the “photostitch launcher” which is an application that lets you either stitch a new image together or view images that you have stitched together previously.

This is what you get. A big blank screen with big buttons that are easy to follow.

So you import the images you have taken and want to stitch together. Just a quick click of the “Open” button to select your images and away you go. When you bring ’em in, you’ll see something like the following in the middle of all that white space as above.

If you squint, there, you can see that these images all have little overlapping bits. From here, you can select some merge options – such as whether or not your image is horizontal, a matrix, and so on. I just use the default settings, myself.

Once you’re ready, you move on to the next step where everything gets stitched together – you’re out of “1. Selection and Arrangement” and into “2. Merge” – easy as pie. You basically just click a button and it does it – gives you back something like this..

As you can see, I did not use a tripod. I just stood in one spot and turned as I took about five or six pictures looking out over the Ottawa River from a spot on Parliament Hill behind the library. Gorgeous day. Now it’s time to save things.

The green outline there is the part that gets saved. You can stretch that however you would like – you can save things in a way that shows the white space to indicate that this is a series of photos stitched together or you can select a part of the photo inside that space so everything looks like one giant image. I shrunk things down and even then my image was over 5,000 pixels wide. It’s pretty spectacular to scan through these huge panoramas, I must say. Here is the final result, which I posted to my flickr photostream. If you view it there, you will see the photos notes which highlight which significant buildings are easily visible in the image.

“Pont Alexandra Bridge” 2006.03.04

Check out the larger size here.

All in all, a very cool programme.  I still have yet to recreate a high school photo project where this same thing was done in film, with the sun out today perhaps I will head out to recreate the shot digitally this afternoon.  That’s something I’ve been meaning to do and meaning to do and I don’t know what has been stopping me – re-learning that course with my new camera.

Comments»

1. jedimacfan - June 29, 2006

Nice panorama.

2. jessicraft - June 29, 2006

thanks 🙂

3. jedimacfan - June 29, 2006

I just bought a Rebel XT and Googled “Photostich 3.1” and came across your site. I haven’t really taken any pictures yet and I don’t really know what I’m doing 🙂 But it’s nice to see that the Photostitch software works pretty well.

4. jessicraft - June 29, 2006

You’ll love the XT and will get the hang of using it in no time 🙂

5. Wayne Watkins - July 7, 2006

how do you alter size for printing? If you want picture to be larger?

6. Bruce Sindahl - November 11, 2006

I’ve tried running Photostitch to save it in the .MOV (Quicktime VR) format, but get a message that says I need Quicktime 3 or 4.

Try to download Quicktime, but can’t find anything but the latest release, so I got it: release 7.1.3.

Problem is that Photostitch 3.1 and Quicktime 7.1.3 don’t appear to work together.

Any ideas out there?

TNX, Bruce

7. jessicraft - November 19, 2006

Wayne, haven’t tried printing any of my PhotoStitch images…

Bruce, apologies no ideas for you – don’t know much about Quicktime, nor much more about PhotoStitch than the basics above 🙂 Good luck!

8. FERNANDO PEREIRA - February 27, 2007

Tenho um scaner da Canon, o CANOSCAN D-646U EX, nele tinha um programa do qual eu me indentifiquei muito (UM EDITOR DE IMÁGENS), mas perdi o CD de instalação e não me recordo do nome do programa…
Alguém consegue me dizer o nome desse programa???
sei que quando ele abre, aparece de um lado, dois quadrados pequenos de imágens (UM PÁSSARO E O OUTRO É UMA PAISÁGEM) e do outro lado abre a caixa de ferramentas…

Alguém pode me ajudar?????

FERNANDO PEREIRA
jfopj@hotmail.com

9. Gosia - May 10, 2007

where can I download this programme ??? ;// I can’t find it … ech

10. manu - May 30, 2007

where to get this programme for free

11. Tracy Truong - January 15, 2009

Hey Jessicraft,
The photostitch came with my Rebel XSI and the program I have looks just about the same as the one you are talking about here.
My problem is that whenever I stitch a couple photos together, it looks seamless after being merged and just before I save it, at the point where you see the green outline in the Save section. However once I save it and review the finished look, it doesn’t look like how it came out in the section 3 part after being merged. I tried many different ways and it’s just not coming out correctly, the seams aren’t merged properly after being saved.. =(
How can I fix this?


Leave a Reply

