jump to navigation

Knitting Olympics – GOLD! March 1, 2006

Posted by jessicraft in fo, knitting, knitting olympics.
trackback

How cool is the Knitting Olympics, seriously. I just loved reading the Yarn Harlot’s post today, The Podium. Towards the end of her post she writes, and this is where I fit in, “[…] those of you who finished very quickly…let this be a lesson to you. You are more remarkable than you think you are. Aim high.”

I technically finished my mittens during the mens gold medal hockey game where Sweden took Finland in a tight match, good game. However, I managed to whip through the first mitten and then took a long break, much longer than should have allowed someone doing such a challenge to finish.

Still, I learned so much – followed a pattern again (second time doing that, after the Irish Hiking Scarf) and knit a project on DPNs for the first time. I learned how to increase, and I decreased, and I picked up stitches. I have a few scarves currently on the go that I have to whip through now before I can make something new and even more exciting.

I’m amazed at the kinds of projects I’ve seen and how quickly they’ve been completed and still so well as a part of this challenge. As I said above, how cool.

Also very cool, our athletes in Italy – what an impressive haul, with the only real disappointment being our men’s hockey team. Am I a complete dork for finding the Nelson Mandela commercial where he talks about the athletes living together for seventeen days and spending only a few moments as adversaries – what a world that would be – really touching? Probably – but that’s okay.

Comments»

1. Dipsy D. - March 1, 2006

Congratulations on winning gold – you certainly deserve it as you knitted the mittens so fast, and they turned out so beautiful!
I actually couldn’t knit at all during the Finland-Sweden hockey game, it was way too exciting! So sorry that your hockey team didn’t get any farther this time, I was cheering heavily for them and was so sure that they’d win gold! It shouldn’t have been this year as it seems – but definitely next time!
Have fun knitting, and best wishes from Austria!

2. jessicraft - March 1, 2006

Hi! That was a great game, I was pulling for Sweden! Hopefully our guys will have the same kind of comeback in 2010. Luckily I only had the one thumb to do during the game, I’m sure I wouldn’t have been able to do much more than that.

Thanks, and best wishes to you 🙂

3. bluestocking - March 3, 2006

So, you going to knit me a monkey now?

4. jessicraft - March 3, 2006

Haha – I’m gettin’ there, man. 😉


Leave a Reply

