jump to navigation

January WIPs: More Scarves. January 21, 2006

Posted by jessicraft in knitting, wip.
trackback

Scarves are great for getting the hang of certain things as new knitters.  I made a stockinette stitch with garter border scarf – something I am visiting in a current WIP while also using two strands of yarn.  The big exciting thing for me, however, is the Irish Hiking Scarf – cables!  It is also my first experience with a 100% natural fiber.

This is the two-stranded stockinette/garter scarf knit on 6.5mm needles; wanted something quick and dirty, and I’d already used some of that yarn while in the process of learning other things.  Started after the hiking scarf, I wanted to just kinda work this acrylic stuff away before buying more natural fibers to begin a new kind of project.

And now for the Irish Hiking Scarf – for the pattern, google that.  This is my first experience following a pattern, first natural fiber.  So far I am loving it.  This is Patons Classic Wool (100% Merino Wool) in Peacock Blue.  Knit on 4mm needles and I do use a cable needle, I find it easier than a DPN.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

